top of page

Ability to Adjust

Reflection is a key element in self-regulated learning. I must continuously reflect on my goal and motivation and gauge how I am doing.

I ask myself:

Do I still want to learn this? Why?

YES! Because I need it for work in the classroom. I can rely on the chart but I would feel more professional and credible if I knew if by heart. I would also like to understand the challenges of learning the chart so that I can assist students in learning it as well.

What's working? What's not working?

* My ability to memorize the symbols is ok, but after a few days of not using it I need to look at the chart quickly again to remember them. SOLUTION: Have a look at the chart every night before going to bed since the office is on the way to the bedroom. Stop in for a quick peek!

*I have set aside time to lesson plan for my jobs, study for my masters, and learn the phonetic chart but then life throws other distractions and responsibilities my way so I don't always spend the time working on specific tasks like I originally committed to. SOLUTION: Don't panic when curve balls are thrown. Keep plugging away and adjust the schedule as necessary. This may mean that I give up coffee with friends because I had a meeting during the time I was suppose to lesson plan. Defer the gratification of leisure knowing that I have priorities and my motto is always "work first, then play". It might not sound like fun, but I don't find downtime enjoyable when I know there is work to do anyway. That being said, make sure to carve out some personal time to relax and reward myself.


Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page